100 days: Stories of Immigrants and Neighbourhoods #56

Outside my house, an old Indian man is wandering up and down the street slowly, darting back to our house. We’re watching him. He’s definitely in the weirdo category. We leave the house for dinner. He stops and walks up to me just at the end of the drive.

‘Excuse me…’
‘Yes?’
His eyes are red and tear-strewn, he walks with a lean over to his left side like it’s boneless.
‘Are you a Gujarati?’
‘Yes I am.’
‘I’m looking for Ashok Shah’s house. He lives in Wood Green somewhere but I’m forgotten where. Do you know where he lives? He is Gujarati too.’
‘No sorry.’
‘I can’t believe I’ve forgotten. Sorry.’

He limps off.

Leave a comment

Filed under 100 days, writing

Leave a Reply

