The end. I haven’t cheated

So, I’ve finished the 100 days project nearly. It was amazing. About 2 weeks in I realised what the project was about for me. It was to write 100 stories of immigrants to combat 100 negative headlines about immigrants, to talk about the secret histories, the small asides and stories that enrich this country through the immigrant experience. It’s been amazing. Having had good feedback from people like Gemma Seltzer and others doing the project, I’m glad I did it.

But wait- you say, you only got up till #73! Where are stories 74-100? Well, they’ve been written and they’ve been saved because stories 74-100 have become the basis for a collection of short stories I am working on. Yes, stories 74-100 became so intricately themed in what I wanted to say about immigrants and immigration and why I think the Daily Hate Mail and Daily Express are so overwhelmingly evil. So they’re being worked on, these stories, they won’t form a hastily written blog- they’ll be the keepers.

So this project did succeed. It gave me the discipline of writing something everyday, always trying to better myself and the content and now I’ve got a collection of short stories out of it. I believe that counts as success.

So back to the blog and the bizarre lives I come across!

1 Comment

Filed under 100 days, journal, writing

One response to “The end. I haven’t cheated

  1. Navjot

    I literally can’t wait to read the collection of short stories. Keep us all posted! Will be reading the blog stories until then.

    #3, #17, #36, #37, #38, #42, #46, #47, #48, #49, #50, #56, #62, #66, #71 are just bloody amazing, short so they don’t weigh you down, and they speak the truth.

    #43 is the short story that first got me hooked on your micro fiction – Ba’s thoughts were v.intriguing.

    #60 is fantastic, I love the way that we can all make sense of how another language is spoken, but especially with a uniquely humourous and realistic meaning of what’s being said. Definitely has a resonance with me because I speak Punjabi.

    I reckon most bilingual people would probably get what you mean, because you describe the various situations where you’d use certain Gujarati phrases.

Leave a Reply

